Home

Bridewell Euro Bike Ride

Will Kriehn, Chris Mistlin & Charlie Howard are challenging themselves again! Having recruited Theo Frazer, King Edward's graduate assistant teacher in Music, they are now in training to cycle from Amsterdam to Santander this summer.

Following the success of the first Bridewell Euro Bike Ride in summer 2017, when the trio, with good friend Gabriele Magnaghi, all King Edward's class of 2017, cycled from Witley to Paris and beyond, the young men have set themselves a new goal. Setting off on 21 July, the planned route will take the team from Amsterdam, through the heart of France, crossing in to Spain in the Basque region, and on through often mountainous terrain to Santander as they cycle for 16 days, totalling 1600km.

All fundraising will go to the Bridewell Foundation. Follow the link for more information and to donate.  https://mydonate.bt.com/events/bridewelleurbikesantander/464304

We are so grateful to the commitment of these, our youngest, Old Witleians, and hope you will join them in their endeavour to raise funds for the Bridewell Foundation by sponsoring the challenge. 

The need for assisted boarding places for vulnerable young people has never abated but now more than ever it is recognised as a cost effective, and demonstrably successful, alternative to care for some young people.  

And where next for our Bridewell Bikers? Moscow?

For further information, or to make an off-line donation, please contact Mrs Emma Harrison, King Edward's Witley Development Manager, on development@kesw.org and tel. 01428 686773.

Daily Schedule

  • Saturday 21 July
    06:00 departure from King Edward's 
    09:15 Ferry from Dover to Calais
    Drive to Dunkirk for lunch
    Drive to Amsterdam - 18:00 approx. arrival time
  • Sunday 22 July
    Amsterdam (Holland) to Poppel (Belgium) - 136km
  • Monday 23 July
    Poppel (Belgium) to Geraardsbergen (Belgium) - 140km
  • Tuesday 24 July
    Geraardsbergen (Beligium) to Arras (France) - 108km
  • Wednesday 25 July
    Arras (France) to Compiegne (France) - 113km
  • Thursday 26 July
    Compiegne (France) to Meaux (France) / Meaux to Versailles - 68.5km (632km so far)
  • Friday 27 July
    No cycling - day in Paris
  • Saturday 28 July
    Paris to Chateaudun - 122km
  • Sunday 29 July
    Chateaudun to Tours - 110km
  • Monday 30 July
    Tours to Lusignan - 119km
  • Tuesday 31 July
    Lusignan to La Rochelle - 120km
  • Wednesday 1 August
    Drive to Arcachon: Cycle Arcachon -to Vielle-Saint-Girons
  • Thursday 2 August
    Vielle-Saint-Girons to San Sebastian (France)
  • Friday 3 August
    San Sebastian to Bilbao
  • Saturday 4 August
    Bilbao to Santander
    20:30 - Ferry from Santander to Portsmouth
  • Sunday 5 August
    19:45 Ferry arrives at Portsmouth