Old Witleians' Summer Reunion 2019

For the second year running, the Old Witleians Summer Reunion on Saturday 29 June at King Edward's Witley, fell on an incredibly hot day with temperatures reaching into the 30s!  Although some Old Witleians were unable to join us, we were, once again, delighted to welcome many to the day's activities.

As in previous years, the day began with Registration and refreshments in the Library at 10.30am and  following a welcome speech from Mr John Attwater, Headmaster, guests made their way to The Chapel Service which this year was led by the Headmaster.  The service included the Anthem ‘O Thou the Central Orb’ by Charles Wood which was sung by the King Edward's choir and three hymns, the final one being the School Hymn written by former Headmaster ACB Bellerby (1926 and 1951).  Following on from the service, guests were invited to the Selborne Room for a delicious, hot buffet lunch created and served by the School's excellent catering team. The Headmaster gave his thanks to the Old Witleian guests for their continued support and annual visits over coffee which was followed by a thank you, goodbye and good luck speech to Mr Attwater by Old Witleian John Dunne. At the end of July, the Headmaster will leave King Edward’s to start his new role as Principal of King’s Ely in Cambridgeshire. 

After moving outside into the Quad for the traditional group photograph, guests were invited to take part in various tours of the School.  For some, this included a visit to the new Modern Foreign Languages Dept on North side (old dorms) and a reminiscent visit to the Dining Hall. At the same time, the Old Wits v School cricket commenced on the cricket pitch with well needed refreshments for everyone in the Pavillion at the start and again at teatime which also included a BBQ.

For all other guests, afternoon tea and cake was ready in the Selborne Room on their return from the various tours.  At the same time, there was the sale of King Edward’s memorabilia ranging from books, glass paperweights, enamel keyrings and cufflinks to bracelet charms and ties. As as addition this year for the first time, guests were invited to view two Art exhibitions in the Art Department and Bunker Gallery, and a Design Technology exhibition in the new Engine Room on South side. 

In the evening, the annual free Proms in the Park concert took place located on the lawn outside QMH.  All guests were invited to bring a picnic and chair and enjoy relaxing on the lawns while listening to the excellent School music ensembles and soloists. Our Parents Association, KESPA, ran a bar selling both alcoholic and soft drinks and also sold a hog roast which filled the air with a BBQ aroma.

The list of Old Witleian guests who came along this year included:

P.G. Smith. Gordon, 1940–1945

Bernard Corrie. Edward, 1947-1951

Bob Jenkins. Grafton, 1947–1955

Paul Hart. Ridley 1948-1953

Alan Calver. Ridley 1949-1953

Alan Selby. Ridley 1949-1953

Christopher Hudson. Wakefield 1952-1958

Sandra Stansfield (Widow of David Stansfield), Wakefield 1952-1958

Catherine Strange. Queens' 1953-1956

Pamela Lorraine (nee Waters). Elizabeth 1955-1961

Merial Nye (nee Kirkpatrick).  Queens’, 1957-1964

John Stead. Ridley 1958-1965

Anthony Coad. Edward 1960-1964

Margaret Buck Junior House Mistress 1962-1966

Fred Deane Wakefield 1962-1967

Anne Martin (nee Deane) St. Bridgets’ House 1962-1969

Stephen Linney. Ridley 1962-1970

Peter Bell Wakefield 1963-1967

Hazel King (nee Parry) St. Bridgets' House 1963-1969

Charlotte Linney. Elizabeth 1963-1969

Brian Fredrick. Grafton 1963-1969

Patricia Woodfine. Elizabeth 1964-1966

Mrs. Jean Wynd. Queens' House Mistress 1965-1974

William Schirmer. Edward 1969-1976

Bart Stevens. Edward 1969-1976

Phil Davies. Edward 1973-1980

Steve Davies. Edward 1973-1980

Leon Ruward. Edward 1974-1978

Nicholas Bourne. Ridley 2005-2010 

James Wood. Wakefield 2009-2015

Josef Moore. Grafton 2011-2015

Ella Garrett. Queens' 2010-2018

Charles Rudge. Ridley 2011-2017

Charlie Howard. Wakefield 2012-2017

Will Kriehn. Wakefield 2012-2017

Tom Martis-Jones. Ridley 2013-2017